BLACK SWAN Wins Big at 2011 Independent Spirit Awards, Takes Home Best Film, Director and Actress

     February 26, 2011


The Oscars don’t take place until tomorrow night, but today the Independent Spirit Awards were held, honoring the best in independent film from 2010. Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan walked away with four prizes: Best Film, Best Director, Best Actress and Best Cinematography. James Franco won Best Actor for his work in 127 Hours and Winter’s Bone swept the Best Supporting categories with Dale Dickey and John Hawkes taking home Best Supporting Actress and Actor, respectively. The Kids Are All Right picked up Best Screenplay, while Exit Through the Gift Shop won Best Documentary (No, Banksy wasn’t there. Mr. Brainwash accepted the award). Hit the jump to check out the complete list of winners. Don’t forget to check back here tomorrow night when Matt live blogs the Oscars.

Here are the winners of the 2011 Independent Spirit Awards:

black_swan_movie_poster_01Best Film

Black Swan

Best Director

Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan

Best Actress

Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Best Actor

James Franco, 127 Hours

Best Supporting Actress

Dale Dickey, Winter’s Bone

Best Supporting Actor

John Hawkes, Winter’s Bone

Best Screenplay

Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Bloomberg, The Kids are All Right

Best Cinematography

Matthew Libatique, Black Swan

winters_bone_posterBest Documentary

Exit Through the Gift Shop

Best Foreign Film

The King’s Speech

Best First Feature

Get Low

Best First Screenplay

Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture

Truer Than Fiction Award

Jeff Malmberg, Marwencol

Someone to Watch Award

Mike Ott, Littlerock

Producer’s Award

Anish Savjani, Meek’s Cutoff

Robert Altman Award (Ensemble)

Please Give

Latest News