‘Black Panther’ Passes ‘Jurassic World’ to Become #4 Movie of All Time at Domestic Box Office

     April 3, 2018


Avengers: Infinity War may be hitting theaters in a matter of weeks, but the Black Panther train is still rolling. February’s Marvel Studios release surpassed expectations in its first weekend to record-breaking box office, and “surpassing expectations” was the name of the game as the film continued to have a strong hold week after week. The result? It’s the highest grossing Marvel movie ever released domestically, and if it keeps this up it could surpass The Avengers and Avengers: Age of Ultron at the worldwide box office too.

This week’s milestone is two-fold. First, at the domestic box office, Black Panther’s total has hit $652.5 million which puts it ahead of Jurassic World ($652.3 million) to become the #4 movie of all time. This record will be short-lived, as the film will pass Titanic ($659.3 million) in short order to become the #3 movie of all time at the domestic box office. That’s a 20-year-old record that Black Panther is now in line to break, and while catching Avatar or Star Wars: The Force Awakens is probably impossible at this point, the #3 position of all time is not too shabby for a movie about an African superhero. Here’s the full domestic Top 10.


Image via Marvel Studios

1. Star Wars: The Force Awakens – $963.6 million

2. Avatar – $760.5 million

3. Titanic – $659.3 million

4. Black Panther – $652.5 million

5. Jurassic World – $652.3 million

6. Marvel’s The Avengers – $623.4 million

7. Star Wars: The Last Jedi – $620.1 million

8. The Dark Knight – $534.9 million

9. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – $532.2 million

10. Beauty and the Beast (2017) – $504 million

The other milestone Black Panther hit this week is it has officially entered the Top 10 Worldwide chart with a global total of $1.27 billion. That’s a massive number, and it’s enough to knock Frozen out of the Top 10. Here’s where the worldwide chart stands:

1. Avatar – $2,788.0

2. Titanic – $2,187.5

3. Star Wars: The Force Awakens – $2,068.2


Image via Universal Pictures

4. Jurassic World – $1,671.7

5. Marvel’s The Avengers – $1.518.8

6. Furious 7 – $1,516.0

7. Avengers: Age of Ultron – $1,341.5

8. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 – $1,341.5

9. Star Wars: The Last Jedi – $1,332.6

10. Black Panther – $1,279.2

How high will Black Panther climb on the worldwide chart, and will Infinity War be able to match its heights? Stay tuned folks.

Latest News