FALLING SKIES Lands a Fourth Season on TNT

     July 2, 2013


Fans of the Steven Spielberg-produced sci-fi series Falling Skies have cause to rejoice: TNT has ordered a fourth season.  The show follows the efforts of the human resistance against an invading alien species.  Led by Noah Wyle (ER), the humans encounter a new alien force in season three, played by accomplished character actor Doug Jones (Hellboy).  Season four of Falling Skies will enjoy a 10-episode run next summer.

Also starring Will Patton, Moon Bloodgood and Drew RoyFalling Skies airs Sundays at 10/9c on TNT.  Hit the jump for more.

falling-skies-season-3-posterHere’s the full press release for the fourth season order of TNT’s Falling Skies:

TNT has ordered a fourth season of Falling Skies, the epic drama produced by DreamWorks Television and executive producer Steven Spielberg and starring Noah Wyle. Currently airing Sundays at 10 p.m. (ET/PT), Falling Skies is averaging 5.8 million viewers in Live + 7 delivery and ranks as basic cable’s #1 scripted series with adults 18-49 and adults 25-54 for the summer-to-date. TNT plans to launch the 10-episode fourth season in summer 2014.

Falling Skies tells the extraordinary tale of life and survival in the wake of a catastrophic alien invasion. Wyle plays Tom Mason, a college professor who becomes an unlikely resistance leader after a massive invasion by an alien force. The series also stars Moon Bloodgood, Will Patton, Drew Roy, Connor Jessup, Maxim Knight, Seychelle Gabriel, Mpho Koaho, Colin Cunninghamand Sarah Carter. Among the guest stars this season on Falling Skies are Gloria Reuben, Robert Sean Leonard, Stephen Collins and Doug Jones.Falling Skies premiered in summer 2011 and ranked as basic cable’s #1 new series of the year. The series returned with strong numbers last year, averaging 5.6 million viewers in Live + 7 and ranking as basic cable’s #1 summer drama with adults 25-54.

In addition to Spielberg, season 3 of Falling Skies is executive-produced by DreamWorks Television heads Justin Falvey and Darryl Frank, along with Remi Aubuchon and Greg Beeman.