FRINGE Moves to Friday as FOX Announces Midseason Series Premieres for MIXED SIGNALS, BOB’S BURGERS, BREAKING IN and AMERICAN IDOL

     November 19, 2010

Today Fox became the second network to announce their schedule changes for current running series and premiere dates for the new midseason series hitting the air next year. First up, the biggest and most worrisome change comes in the form of J.J. Abrams sci-fi procedural Fringe being pushed to Fridays in 2011. As many TV buffs know, a Friday air date is usually the beginning of the end for any series, and since Fringe hasn’t been faring as well as it used to in the ratings, this definitely isn’t a good sign.

For more midseason schedule changes including new time periods for Human Target and Bones as well as premiere information for Fox’s new midseason series, hit the jump.

Fox-logoFirst up, Fox is looking to add another animated family to their Animation Domination line-up with Bob’s Burgers (watch the trailer right here ), a comedy about a man, his family and their burger joint. Despite the greasy counters, lousy location and occasionally spotty service, Bob and his lovable and quirky family are convinced their burgers are their ticket to success and plan to make their gran re-re-re-opening a real winner. The half-hour comedy premieres Sunday, January 9th at 8:30/7:30c.

Another new comedy joins the ranks on Tuesdays with Mixed Signals (watch the trailer right here ), a relationship comedy from Wedding Crashers writer Bob Fisher. The series follows hree longtime friends and their attempts to balance their committed relationships with their desire for freedom. The ensemble comedy stars Nelson Franklin (I Love You, Man), David Denman (The Office), Kris Marshall (Human Target), Liza Lapira (Dexter) and Alexandra Breckenridge (Family Guy) and reveals how friendships and romances enhance and further complicate the lives of men and the women who love them. Mixed Signals premieres Tuesday, February 8th at 9:30/8:30c.

Finally, Fox rounds out their new comedies with Breaking In starring Christian Slater. The workplace comedy follows a high-tech security firm that takes extreme and often questionable measures to sell their protection services. Adam F. Goldberg (Fanboys) and Seth Gordon (King of Kong) created the comedy which features Slater, Bret Harrison (Reaper) and Odette Ustman (You Again) as a high-tech security firm that takes extreme and often questionable measures to sell their protection services. Breaking In premieres further back on the midseason schedule on Wednesday

Finally, The Chicago Code, as previously reported, will premiere on Monday, February 7th at 9/8c. If you don’t recall, the series, formerly known as Ride Along (watch, comes from The Shield creator Shawn Ryan and follows Chicago’s most powerful and respected cops as they navigate the city’s underbelly to fight crime and expose corruption. Jason Clarke (Public Enemies), Jennifer Beals (Lie to Me), Delroy Lindo (Kidnapped) and Matt Lauria (Friday Night Lights) star in the new drama.

Below you can check out Fox’s entire press release with all the schedule changes for some of your favorite shows. It’s a bit confusing, but there’s a complete schedule in there too that’s a little easier to work with. Oh and American Idol comes back at some point, but we don’t really care about that nonsense.

FOX 2010-2011 MIDSEASON SCHEDULE (All times ET/PT except as noted)


Monday, Jan. 10:

8:00-10:00 PM            LIE TO ME (Two-Hour Episode)

Mondays, beginning Jan. 17:

8:00-9:00 PM              HOUSE (All-New Episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM            LIE TO ME (All-New Episodes)

Mondays, beginning Feb. 7

8:00-9:00 PM              HOUSE (All-New Episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM            THE CHICAGO CODE (Series Premiere)



Tuesdays, beginning Jan. 4:

8:00-9:00 PM              GLEE (Encore Episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM            MILLION DOLLAR MONEY DROP (All-New Episodes)

Tuesdays, beginning Feb. 8:

8:00-9:00 PM              GLEE (All-New Episodes)

9:00-9:30 PM              RAISING HOPE (All-New Episodes)

9:30-10:00 PM MIXED SIGNALS (Series Premiere)



Wednesday, Jan. 5 and 12:

8:00-10:00 PM            HUMAN TARGET (All-New, Two-Hour Episodes)

Wednesday, Jan. 19:

8:00-10:00 PM            AMERICAN IDOL (Two-Hour Season Premiere, Part One)

Wednesdays, beginning Jan. 26:

8:00-9:00 PM              AMERICAN IDOL

9:00-10:00 PM            HUMAN TARGET (All-New Episodes)

Wednesdays, beginning Feb. 16:

8:00-10:00 PM            AMERICAN IDOL (Two-Hour Episodes)

Wednesdays, beginning April 6:

8:00-9:30 PM              AMERICAN IDOL (90-Minute Episodes)

9:30-10:00 PM            BREAKING IN (Series Premiere)



Thursdays, beginning Jan. 6:

8:00-9:00 PM              MILLION DOLLAR MONEY DROP (All-New Episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM            BONES (Encore Episodes)

Thursdays, beginning Jan. 20:

8:00-9:00 PM              AMERICAN IDOL (Season Premiere, Part Two)

9:00-10:00 PM            BONES (Time Period Premiere)



Friday, Jan. 7:

8:00 PM-CC ET          AT&T COTTON BOWL (Live)

Friday, Jan. 21:

8:00-9:00 PM              KITCHEN NIGHTMARES (Season Premiere)

9:00-10:00 PM            KITCHEN NIGHTMARES (Encore)

Fridays, beginning Jan. 28:

8:00-9:00 PM              KITCHEN NIGHTMARES (All-New Episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM            FRINGE (Time Period Premiere)



Saturday, Jan. 15:


Saturdays, beginning Jan. 22 (no change to lineup):

8:00-8:30 PM              COPS (All-New Episodes)

8:30-9:00 PM              COPS (Encore Episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM            AMERICA’S MOST WANTED (All-New Episodes)



Sunday, Jan. 9:

8:00-8:30 PM              THE SIMPSONS (All-New Episode)

8:30-9:00 PM              BOB’S BURGERS (Series Premiere)

9:00-9:30 PM              FAMILY GUY (All-New Episode)

9:30-10:00 PM THE CLEVELAND SHOW (Time Period Premiere/All-New Episode)

Sunday, Jan. 16 and 23:

7:00-7:30 PM              THE SIMPSONS (Encore Episodes)

7:30-8:00 PM              AMERICAN DAD (Time Period Premiere)

8:00-8:30 PM              THE SIMPSONS (All-New Episodes)

8:30-9:00 PM BOB’S BURGERS (All-New Episodes)

9:00-9:30 PM FAMILY GUY (All-New Episodes)

9:30-10:00 PM THE CLEVELAND SHOW (All-New Episodes)

Sunday, Jan. 30:

7:00 PM-CC ET          NFC PRO BOWL (Live)

Sunday, Feb. 6:

6:00 PM-CC ET               SUPER BOWL XLV (Live)

10:30 PM ET/7:30 PT GLEE (All-New Special Episode; Approximate Start Time)

Sundays, beginning Feb. 13 (no change to lineup):

7:00-7:30 PM              THE SIMPSONS

7:30-8:00 PM              AMERICAN DAD

8:00-8:30 PM              THE SIMPSONS

8:30-9:00 PM BOB’S BURGERS

9:00-9:30 PM FAMILY GUY