Jack Quaid and Leven Rambin Cast as District 1 Tributes Marvel and Glimmer in THE HUNGER GAMES

     April 19, 2011


Lionsgate is revealing all of the actors cast as District tributes in The Hunger Games.  The lead characters are from District 12: Katniss (played by Jennifer Lawrence) and Peeta (Josh Hutcherson).  Yesterday, we learned that newcomers Dayo Okeniyi and Amanda Stenberg would play District 11 tributes Thresh and Rue.  Today, the official Facebook page for the movie has revealed that Jack Quaid and Leven Rambin have been cast as District 1 tributes Marvel and Glimmer. The cast also includes Liam Hemsworth as Katniss’ friend Gale, and Elizabeth Banks is in talks to play Effie Trinket, “a flaky bureaucrat who escorts her district’s young death-match contestants to their fate.”

Hit the jump for the official synopsis.  The Hunger Games opens March 23, 2012.

Here’s the official synopsis for The Hunger Games:

THE HUNGER GAMES will be directed by Gary Ross, and produced by Nina Jacobson’s Color Force in tandem with producer Jon Kilik. Collins’ best-selling novel, which has over 3 million copies in print in the United States alone, is the first in a trilogy of science fiction/action novels which have developed a global following.

“The Hunger Games” chronicles a dystopic Capitol which requires its twelve subjugated districts to pay tribute in the form of a teenage boy and girl, forced to participate in the annual “Hunger Games,” a fight-to-the-death live televised event. Katniss Everdeen’s little sister is chosen in the lottery to participate and Katniss volunteers to take her place. Although persevering through hardship is commonplace for Katniss, she must start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love in order to win the games and return home. The Hunger Games novel has been on the New York Times best seller list for over 100 consecutive weeks. Foreign rights for the book, published by Scholastic have been sold in 41 countries.

Lionsgate will release “The Hunger Games” on March 23, 2012.


Latest News