‘Get Out’ & ‘Lady Bird’ Win Big at 2018 Independent Spirit Awards

     March 4, 2018


Tonight’s the big night with the Oscars and per usual, the night beforehand was dominated by the Independent Spirit Awards. The last two ceremonies have proven to rightly predict the winner of the Best Film category – both Spotlight and Moonlight won the ISA’s top honor. Top honors at this year’s ceremony went to Get Out and Jordan Peele for Best Director, so here’s hoping that this tradition holds and Peele pulls out a big win tonight, though I’m less than optimistic. At the very least, the Oscars don’t have Nick Kroll and John Mulaney hosting the ceremony, which easily puts the gaudy spectacle of the Academy Awards far below the Independent Spirit Awards in terms of enjoyability.


Image via Sony Pictures Classics

Indeed, though Sam Rockwell and Allison Janney walked away once again with the Best Supporting Actor and Actress prizes, other awards bucked anticipation. Timothee Chalamet took home Best Male Lead for his work in Call Me By Your Name, but he wasn’t even up against Gary Oldman. In fact, he was up against far more imposing work from the likes of Robert Pattinson for Good Time and Harris Dickinson for the largely ignored, astonishing Beach Rats. Frances McDormand nabbed another trophy for her fantastic work in the otherwise noxious Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, while The Big Sick and Lady Bird nabbed the major screenwriting awards. Most memorably, the Robert Altman Award was handed to Dee Rees, her casting directors, and her cast for Mudbound. All of this, and an uproarious Andy Samberg bit, makes it hard to argue against the fact that in its 33rd year, the Independent Spirit Awards are still the most down-to-earth and genuinely entertaining of the televised award shows.

Here’s the full list of winners from last night’s Independent Spirit Awards:

Best Feature:

Get Out (Universal Pictures)

Producers: Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm Jr., Sean McKittrick, Jordan Peele


Best Director: 

Jordan Peele, Get Out (Universal Pictures)


Best Screenplay:

Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird (A24)


Best First Feature:

Ingrid Goes West (NEON)

Director: Matt Spicer

Producers: Jared Ian Goldman, Adam Mirels, Robert Mirels, Aubrey Plaza,

Tim White, Trevor White


Best First Screenplay:

Emily V. Gordon, Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick (Amazon Studios)


John Cassavetes Award (For best feature made under $500,000):

Life and Nothing More (CFI Releasing)

Writer/Director: Antonio Méndez Esparza

Producers: Amadeo Hernández Bueno, Alvaro Portanet Hernández,

Pedro Hernández Santos


Best Supporting Female:

Allison Janney, I, Tonya (NEON)


Best Supporting Male:

Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Fox Searchlight)         


Best Female Lead:

Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

(Fox Searchlight)


Best Male Lead:

Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)


Robert Altman Award:

Mudbound (Netflix)                                     

Director: Dee Rees

Casting Directors: Billy Hopkins, Ashley Ingram

Ensemble Cast: Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Rob Morgan, Carey Mulligan


Best Cinematography:

Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)


Best Editing:

Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya (NEON)


Best International Film:

A Fantastic Woman (Chile – Sony Pictures Classics)

Director: Sebastián Lelio


Best Documentary:

Faces Places (Cohen Media Group)       

Directors: Agnés Varda, JR

Producer: Rosalie Varda

Latest News