Mondo Announces Studio Ghibli Compilation on Vinyl; Tyler Stout Designs 3 Covers for HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE, PRINCESS MONONOKE, and SPIRITED AWAY

     July 19, 2013

princess mononoke tyler stout

Mondo announced they will release a limited edition Studio Ghibli compilation on vinyl July 26.  Featuring performances from the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Studio Ghibli Kokyo Kyokushu includes selections from Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, The Cat Returns, and My Neighbors the Yamadas.  Naturally, Mondo recruited Tyler Stout to design three beautiful album covers inspired by Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, and Howl’s Moving Castle.

Mondo will sell one version at Comic-Con tomorrow, and will make all three available at the Mondo site on July 26.  Hit the jump for the artwork, tracklisting, and info on how to buy.


spirited-away-tyler-stoutAustin, TX – Friday, July 19, 2013 – Mondo is thrilled to announce the limited edition vinyl release of a compilation of selections from five different Studio Ghibli films, featuring performances from the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra.  Studio Ghibli Kokyo Kyokushu will include selections from PRINCESS MONONOKE, SPIRITED AWAY, HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE, THE CAT RETURNS, & MY NEIGHBORS THE YAMADAS.  This collaboration was an especially exciting project for Mondo to be able to release this album for the first time ever on vinyl.  Studio Ghibli Kokyo Kyokushu will be available for purchase on July 26 at

There will be three different collectible versions of this album, each featuring a different piece of artwork from renowned Mondo artist, Tyler Stout, capturing elements from all five films across the Gatefold 2XLP packaging. One version, showcasing HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE, a with traditional Japanese Obi and all Japanese text, will premiere at the 2013 San Diego Comic-Con. Each album will also include two different colored vinyl as followed:

  • HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE (Japanese Variant) – Purple & Pink vinyl
  • PRINCESS MONONOKE – Red & Blue vinyl
  • SPIRITED AWAY – Yellow & Green vinyl

Track Listing:

1. Chapter One – The Legend of Ashitaka

2. Chapter Four – Princess Mononoke

3. Chapter Eight – Ashitaka And San

4. The Theme of My Neighbors The Yamadas – Orchestral Version

5. Takashi And Matsuko’s Tango – Sinfonico

6. Always With Me – Orchestral Version

7. A Mysterious World

8. The Moving Castle

9. War War War

10. Cave Of The Mind

11. The Baron

12. Pastorale

13. Haru’s Memories


  • Tracks 1-3 From Symphonic Suite Princess Mononoke
  • Tracks 4-5 From My Neighbors The Yamadas – Classical Album
  • Track 6 From the film Spirited Away
  • Tracks 7-10 From Howl’s Moving Castle – Image Symphonic Suite
  • Tracks 11-13 From The Cat Returns – Original Soundtrack Album

For the exact sale time on July 26, follow @MondoNews on Twitter.



howls moving castle tyler stout

Latest News