New York Film Critics Circle Names ZERO DARK THIRTY Best Film; Daniel Day-Lewis, Sally Field, and Matthew McConaughey Win Acting Awards

     December 3, 2012


The New York Film Critics Circle has kicked the awards race off in earnest, and the love was spread primarily between Zero Dark Thirty and Lincoln.  The drama about the hunt for Osama bin Laden took home Best Picture, Best Director for Kathryn Bigelow, and Best Cinematographer, while Steven Spielberg’s Lincoln was awarded Best Screenplay, Best Actor, and Best Supporting Actress.  The group also had a couple of left field choices with the Best Supporting Actor award going to Matthew McConaughey for Magic Mike (alright, alright, alright) and Best Actress going to Rachel Weisz for The Deep Blue Sea.  McConaughey winning the trophy was a pleasant surprise, but Weisz’s win is a tad baffling.

Hit the jump to check out the full list of winners, and click here to peruse our recent Oscar Preview features.

daniel-day-lewis-lincolnBest Film:

Zero Dark Thirty 

Best Director:

Kathryn BigelowZero Dark Thirty 

Best Screenplay:

Tony KushnerLincoln

Best Actor:

Daniel Day-LewisLincoln

Best Actress:

Rachel WeiszThe Deep Blue Sea

Best Foreign Language Film:


Best Animated Film:


Best Supporting Actor:

Matthew McConaugheyMagic Mike

Best Supporting Actress:

Sally FieldLincoln

Best Cinematographer:

Greig FraserZero Dark Thirty

Best Non-Fiction Film (Documentary):

The Central Park Five

Best First Film:

David FranceHow to Survive a Plague


Latest News