Oscar Short List for Best Live Action and Animated Short Films; Watch the Animated Shorts

     November 30, 2010

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have announced which live action and animated short films will be eligible for an Oscar nomination when the nominees are announced in a couple of months.  I’m not familiar with any of the live action shorts that made the list, but it’s nice to see the latest shorts from Pixar and Bill Plympton make the cut.  After the jump, you can see the full list, and I’ve also included the animated shorts that are available online:

Animated Shorts

Teaser for The Cow that Wanted to be a Hamburger

Coyote Falls

Day and Night

Trailer for The Gruffalo

Let’s Pollute

The Lost Thing [Update: Video removed at the request of the producers. Click here to go to the film’s official website.]


Teaser for The Silence Beneath the Bark

Trailer for Urs

Live Action Shorts

Trailer for Aria’s Playground

Here’s the full Oscar short list for both live action and animated short films:

Animated Short Films

“The Cow Who Wanted to Be a Hamburger,” Bill Plympton, director (Bill Plympton Studio)

“Coyote Falls,” Matthew O’Callaghan, director and Sam Register, executive producer (Warner Bros. Animation Inc.)“Day & Night,” Teddy Newton, director (Pixar Animation Studios)

“The Gruffalo,” Jakob Schuh and Max Lang, directors (Magic Light Pictures)

“Let’s Pollute,” Geefwee Boedoe, story-design-animation (Geefwee Boedoe)

“The Lost Thing,” Shaun Tan and Andrew Ruhemann, directors (Passion Pictures Australia)

“Madagascar, Carnet de Voyage (Madagascar, a Journey Diary),” Bastien Dubois, director (Sacrebleu Productions)

“Sensology,” Michel Gagne, director-producer (GAGNE International LLC)

“The Silence beneath the Bark,” Joanna Lurie, director (Lardux Films)

“Urs,” Moritz Mayerhofer, director (Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg)

Live Action Short Films

“Ana’s Playground,” Eric D. Howell, director (StoryForge, LLC)

“The Confession,” Tanel Toom, director (National Film and Television School)

“The Crush,” Michael Creagh, director (Purdy Pictures)

“God of Love,” Luke Matheny, director (Luke Matheny)

“Na Wewe,” Ivan Goldschmidt, director-producer (CUT!)

“Seeds of the Fall,” Patrik Eklund, director, and Mathias Fjellstrom, producer (Direktorn & Fabrikorn)

“Shoe,” Nick Kelly, director, and Seamus Byrne, producer (Zanita Films)

“The Six Dollar Fifty Man,” Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland, directors (Sticky Pictures Ltd.)

“Sma Barn, Stora Ord (Little Children, Big Words),” Lisa James Larsson, director and Andreas Emanuelsson, producer (Bob Film Sweden AB)

“Wish 143,” Ian Barnes, director, and Samantha Waite, producer (Swing and Shift Films/Union Pictures)

Latest News