Scream 2010 to Show World Premiere Footage from SCREAM 4, PARANORMAL ACTIVITY 2, and THE RITE

     September 29, 2010


With its 5th annual “Scream Awards” only weeks away, Spike TV is building momentum for its latest incarnation “Scream 2010.”  At the beginning of the month, the show announced its nominees.  Today, Spike has revealed that “Scream 2010” will feature world premiere footage from Scream 4, Paranormal Activity 2, and The Rite.  In case that isn’t compelling enough television for Spike to earn your rating points, the awards ceremony is also set to celebrate the 25th anniversary of Back to the Future with guest appearances from cast members including Michael J. Fox, Lea Thompson, and Elisabeth Shue.  Other confirmed attendees include Wes Craven, Aaron Eckhart, and Sigourney Weaver.

Per the giant picture at the top of the article, “Scream 2010” premieres on Spike TV October 19th at 9pm ET.  As for the footage premiering, Scream 4 is scheduled to open April 15th of next year, Paranormal Activity 2 will release in a few weeks on October 22nd, and The Rite starring Sir Anthony Hopkins and Rutger Hauer hits theaters January 28th, 2011.  Also, keep in mind that the “Back to the Future 25th Anniversary Trilogy” releases on Blu-ray/DVD October 26th.  Hit the jump to check out the full press release.

Here’s the press release:


Show Will Also Feature “Back To The Future” 25th Anniversary Tribute To

Marty McFly’s Flux Capacitated Adventures Featuring Michael J. Fox, Lea Thompson

And Elisabeth Shue

Also Set To Attend:  Sir Anthony Hopkins, David Arquette, Neve Campbell,

Hayden Panettiere, Emma Roberts Wes Craven, Aaron Eckhart, Sigourney Weaver, Alan Ball, Sam Trammell, Kristen Bauer, Rutina Wesley And Many More

Two-Hour Event Premieres Tuesday, October 19 at 9PM, ET/PT

New York, NY, September 29, 2010 – With enough star power to light up the Los Angeles night sky, Spike TV’s “SCREAM 2010” will tape at the Greek Theatre on Saturday, October 16.  The ultimate celebration of all things sci-fi, fantasy, horror and comic book, the 5th annual “SCREAM” is the first and only global event of its kind to honor and celebrate the hottest films, TV shows, comics, actors, creators, icons and pioneers who have influenced and shaped these genres.  The two-hour event premieres on Spike TV on Tuesday, October 19 (9:00 – 11:00 PM, ET/PT).

“SCREAM 2010” will feature a host of world premieres, including footage from the highly-anticipated fourth installment of one of the most influential franchises of all time – none other than the original cast and creator of the movie “Scream” along with new stars from the upcoming “Scream 4.”   David Arquette and Neve Campbell, along with 2006 Scream Mastermind Award-recipient and creator of the “Scream” franchise Wes Craven, as well as “Scream 4” co-stars Emma Roberts and Hayden Panettiere will present never-before-seen footage from the just-wrapped “Scream 4.”  The show will also include an appearance by Academy Award Winner Sir Anthony Hopkins, who will introduce world premiere footage of his upcoming supernatural thriller “The Rite,” and those in attendance at the Greek and the millions watching worldwide will also be treated to an exclusive first look at “Paranormal Activity 2,” with many more films to be announced shortly.

Additionally, “SCREAM 2010” will celebrate one of the most beloved science fiction franchises in history when Michael J. Fox, Lea Thompson and Elisabeth Shue reunite onstage in honor of the 25th anniversary of the original “Back To The Future.”  The 1985 release became a cultural phenomenon, inspiring theme park rides, an animated series, selection for preservation in the Library of Congress’ “National Film Registry,” and was even quoted in President Ronald Reagan’s “State of the Union” address in 1986.  The “Back To The Future 25th Anniversary” Trilogy” debuts on Blu-ray and DVD worldwide on October 26, 2010.

“‘SCREAM’ has established itself as a global celebration of the most imaginative films, comics and TV shows that drive and continue to redefine pop culture,” said Casey Patterson, executive producer and senior vice president, talent, event production and studio relations, Spike TV.  “The genres of comic books, science fiction and fantasy rule the entertainment world and ‘SCREAM’ is about honoring the creative minds behind them and the incredible fans that keep it spinning.”

Also set to attend are Harvey Dent himself, Aaron Eckhart, “Avatar’s” Sigourney Weaver, “True Blood” creator Alan Ball and castmembers Sam Trammell, Kristen Bauer and Rutina Wesley, “Jackass 3D” crew members Johnny Knoxville, Bam Margera, Steve-O, the stars of AMC’s forthcoming original series “The Walking Dead,” Sarah Wayne Callies and Jon Bernthal, and many more.

“SCREAM 2010” will present awards in 33 different categories.  Christopher Nolan’s summer science fiction blockbuster “Inception” leads the way with nominations in 14 categories, including “The Ultimate Scream,” “Best Ensemble” and “Fight Scene of the Year.”  “Kick-Ass” was nominated in 13 categories for a total of 17 nominations, while Tony Stark’s adventures in “Iron Man 2” garnered 13 nominations.  HBO’s “True Blood” had the most nominations of any television series with 10.

Now through Friday, October 15, fans can vote for their favorites, as well as view exclusive red carpet and backstage coverage of the event, by visiting

The official sponsors of Spike TV’s “SCREAM 2010” are, Geico, Subaru and Taco Bell.

Casey Patterson, Michael Levitt and Cindy Levitt serve as executive producers for “SCREAM 2010.”  Greg Sills is supervising producer, Gary Tellalian and Austin Reading are producers and Hamish Hamilton will direct.