‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’: Extended TV Spot and Soundtrack Tracklist Revealed

     November 27, 2015


The awakening is imminent. That’s right, we’re exactly three weeks out from the release of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, undoubtedly the most anticipated film of 2015. While J.J. Abrams promised that the third and final trailer for the movie would be its last, that hasn’t stopped Disney from releasing a fair amount of footage in the form of TV spots. One such piece of marketing arrived yesterday, just in time for Thanksgiving. This extended TV spot doesn’t feature a ton of new footage (thankfully), but we do hear a bit more from Andy Serkis’ still-not-revealed CG character General Snoke and Adam Driver’s villainous Kylo Ren.

But that’s not all! The official tracklisting for John Williams’ score has also been revealed (via Film Music Reporter). It’s yet another fascinating piece of the puzzle fans have been trying put together, but you can rest assured there’s no repeat of the Episode I disaster when Qui-Gon’s death popped up as a track name. With Abrams it’s hard to tell if this tracklist is pretty straight forward or if it’s intentionally misleading, but it does seem to follow the plot trajectory that fans have surmised re: opening with Ren/BB-8/the Battle of Jakku. And does this suggest that Lupita Nyong’o‘s CG character Maz—whose eyes have “power”—will be a Yoda-like character that provides guidance/foresight to our heroes?

Feel free to sound off in the comments with your own speculation as to what these tracknames mean (although they’re pretty self-explanatory) after watching the new TV spot below. Star Wars: The Force Awakens opens in theaters on December 18th.

star-wars-the-force-awakens-soundtrack-coverStar Wars: The Force Awakens Tracklisting:

1. Main Title and the Attack on the Jakku Village
2. The Scavenger
3. I Can Fly Anything
4. Rey Meets BB-8
5. Follow Me
6. Rey’s Theme
7. The Falcon
8. That Girl with the Staff
9. The Rathtars!
10. Finn’s Confession
11. Maz’s Counsel
12. The Starkiller
13. Kylo Ren Arrives at the Battle
14. The Abduction
15. Han and Leia
16. March of the Resistance
17. Snoke
18. On the Inside
19. Torn Apart
20. The Ways of the Force
21. Scherzo for X-Wings
22. Farewell and the Trip
23. The Jedi Steps and Finale

For more on Star Wars: The Force Awakens, peruse our recent links below.


Latest News