‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Added as 11th Best Picture Nominee for Critics Choice Awards

     December 22, 2015


Well this is different. A few days ago, we learned that the Broadcast Film Critics Association was going to retroactively allow its voters to consider Star Wars: The Force Awakens as a Best Picture candidate, mere days after the full Critics Choice Awards nominees list was unveiled. Now the results of the re-vote are in, and The Force Awakens made the cut—it’s now the 11th Best Picture nominee for this year’s awards. The full list of Best Picture nominees now looks like this:

The Big Short

Bridge of Spies




Image via Lucasfilm

Mad Max: Fury Road

The Martian

The Revenant




Star Wars: The Force Awakens

This is an unprecedented move on the BFCA’s part, but one thing’s for certain: the ratings for the Critics Choice Awards will certainly be higher now that Star Wars is in the mix. What does this mean for Oscar? Nothing, really. Critics don’t vote for Oscars, so there’s no voter overlap here, but it does put Star Wars: The Force Awakens and “awards” in the same sentence, so it’s possible this could pique some Academy voter interest.

But as I laid out in my previous article on whether The Force Awakens is a Best Picture contender, the movie is coming very late in the game and competing against a number of beloved commercial picks that are vying for a spot among the Academy’s Best Picture nominees. There’s no denying the fact that The Force Awakens has hijacked the zeitgeist for the time-being, but will it be loud enough to break into the Oscar field? I’m doubtful, but with this bunch you never really know.

For now, there’s at least one honor for which The Force Awakens is eligible. We’ll find out if the BFCA has the gall to give it the top prize when the Critics Choice Awards are broadcast on January 17th.


Image via Lucasfilm

Latest News