‘Suicide Squad’: Twenty One Pilots Music Video Tours Belle Reve Prison

     June 22, 2016

DC’s Suicide Squad is just a bunch of “Heathens,” as witnessed by Twenty One Pilots. Featured on the film’s upcoming soundtrack, the band tours Belle Reve prison and pokes their heads in on the inmates in the music video for their new song.

Also featured is new footage from the film. While they only consist of brief snippets — mostly recycled material — we do see more of Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie) attempting to seduce a prison guard from behind her cell bars, Killer Croc (Adewale Akkinuoye-Agbaje) bursting forth from sewer water to attack an enemy, and Deadshot (Will Smith) strapped to a chair and getting wheeled off for god knows what.

In one of the final moments, the jail cells open and the prisoners, though initially confused, walk out to listen Twenty One Pilots perform their song. It’s an interesting moment because, some time ago, there was a report floating around the Internet touting supposed descriptions of the film’s major moments. I won’t come out and say what they were, but even this instance from a seemingly disjointed music video raises eyebrows.

Watch the “Heathens” video below.

Also featured on Suicide Squad: The Soundtrack are Skrillex, Rick Ross, Lil’ Wayne, Wiz Khalifa, Imagine Dragons, Eminem, Panic! At the Disco’s cover of Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapshody” (which was featured heavily in the trailers), and Grace’s cover of “You Don’t Own Me” (also from the trailers).

The film, directed by David Ayer, is the next installment of the DC Expanded Universe following the critically bashed Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice. Jared Leto (Joker), Jai Courtney (Captain Boomerang), Joel Kinnaman (Rick Flag), Cara Delevingne (Enchantress), Viola Davis (Amanda Waller), Jay Hernandez (El Diablo), Karen Fukuhara (Katana), and Adam Beach (Slipknot) also feature among the cast.

Suicide Squad and its soundtrack both drop on Aug. 5.


Image via Warner Bros.


Image via Warner Bros.


Latest News